Designer? Programmer? Enthusiast? Join Open Designs Now!

Open Designs Forum » General Talk

Novice in need of help, please

(11 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by newbie2009
  • Latest reply from papab30

No tags yet.

1. newbie2009

Hello everyone,

I am a novice, and by novice, I mean the lowest level of all other novices. I'm hoping someone on the board can help me move forward with creating my website. Fortunately, I'm otherwise computer literate and I downloaded the template, watched a tutorial that I found on another website about CSS Framework. I am editing the website with Wordpad but now that I am nearly finished editing the text I need to go to the next stage.

Can someone please help me by telling me which programs I will need to continue in order to make the website functional?

I don't have a large budget to work with, so I would really appreciate any recommendations for open source or very inexpensive programs. I'm guessing if the program is mainstream, I can also find a video tutorial online as I did for CSS Framework.

Thank you,
    Samantha

Posted 2 years ago #
  2. NickyD

Hi Samantha:
    If you are looking for a free web authoring tool, try Komposer.

http://www.kompozer.net/

Posted 2 years ago #
  3. newbie2009

Thanks so much for replying so quickly Nicky, I really appreciate the help!

Posted 2 years ago #
  4. wfiedler

And the next step will be to get your website online.

For this you will first need a hosting company. As I'm not from the USA, perhaps somebody here can suggest some free or paid hosters.

Then you will need a so called FTP client software to upload your files.

FileZilla (http://filezilla-project.org/) will do the job. It's also for free.

Posted 2 years ago #
  5. newbie2009

Thanks wfiedler,