Designer? Programmer? Enthusiast? Join Open Designs Now!

Open Designs Forum » Site Specific

Rant: Possibly Walking Away From OD

(45 posts)
  • Started 3 years ago by Sean
  • Latest reply from conartistdesigns

No tags yet.

1. Sean
    Founding Member

Some people are getting way to technical and bringing up all sorts of possible legal ideas and/or problems with advertising, the site, etc...

I'm receiving a ton of emails about it, some good and some bad about this as well.

Bottom line, I am going to publicly say that I'm getting pretty damn close to walking away from this project.

There are a few users who are continuing to make this not a fun and enjoyable experience anymore. You will be receiving personal private messages from me soon.

Why am I at my wits end?

For starters, I took so much flack when I was an admin on OWD. You know, that other site :bigsmile:

Some of you might remember I was the only one for a good 6-9 months who kept the site alive before OD came about and most of us came to our new home here at OD.

OD was suppose to be better and for close to 7 months it has until recently.

I've also taken the brunt of other things with OD when things go sideways. Why is this?

Because I'm not worried about expressing my feelings about issues. Many will back me on this.

I've also shown to many people that I am a fair and open minded admin and willing to help just about anyone. Most of you are now close friends of mine.

Normally I can take a lot of crap dished out to me but I've finally reached my breaking point. Watch out, Irish blood starting to boil :)

I won't speak for the other two admins (Joe and Christopher) but I've personally put hundreds of hours into Open Designs... all donated and I never asked for anything, except maybe for everyone to be nice and help support the site or back the community when needed.

Why have I done this? Because of my love and respect for the community and the open source cause that most of us believe in.